Interesting merger

https://www.legacysurvey.org//viewer/?ra=194.7623&dec=28.1217&layer=ls-dr9&zoom=15

3 Likes

Although maybe it’s a chance visual alignment? I am a total noob on this, so please forgive me, but I am not sure because the photometric redshifts of the two galaxies are pretty close but still outside of each other’s error margins. Adding to that, the redshifts 0.026 vs 0.031 seem quite different from each other to my mind or does it not matter in that sense?

1 Like

There even is a Hubble image of this pair:

1 Like

1 Like

That is a fairly close value of redshift. For reference, the highest redshift galaxy discovered is 13.2 so a 0.005. A higher value of redshift means the galaxy is further away. This was discover by Hubble and immortalised in Hubble’s Law which (roughly) states that all sufficiently distant light sources show redshift for a velocity proportionate to their distance from Earth. In other words, redshift is (partially) caused by a galaxy which is moving away from us. This velocity (known as the recessional velocity) is proportional to distance.

More info
More info but minus pompous words

Notes on how redshift is caused

On how the redshift is actually caused (and why I said partially above), there are 3 reasons for redshift. The first is due to light travelling between objects moving apart. This is analogous to the Doppler Effect often seen in High School/GCSE Physics although it is known as the Relativistic Doppler Effect in this case as you have to take special relativity into account.

The second way is Cosmological Redshift. This is the redshift cause by the space itself the light is travelling through expanding. Put simply, a photon is just a wave/disturbance in a field. Given that the field itself is expanding (ish), your wavelength will expand. An increase in apparent wavelength is just redshift.