Amorphous looking interaction

https://www.legacysurvey.org//viewer/?ra=351.2623&dec=0.0136&layer=hsc-dr2&zoom=15&const

1 Like

Wow! #interesting-things:beautiful-or-unusual-objects

4 Likes

Wow!!! That is the most amazing intriguing site so far. Im new to all this and do not know much at all about it. I find it all very interesting and i cant stop working towards learning all i can!

2 Likes

Wow!

A really complicated pair of mergers / Ram Pressure Stripping story?

1 Like

IMO mostly mergers and tidal interactions. Possibly RPS influences as well but if galaxies are interacting it is very often hard to see the RPS effects versus interaction and merger effects (if they are large enough like here)

1 Like

Look at the star formation going on in the trails. The upper one is far closer to jellyfish tendrils than merger trail, and I’ve never seen a tidal trail with star formation like that. It looks to me like the gasses from the upper merger have been blown into the lower which, combined with the merger action, has driven radical amounts and patterns of star formation.

Lower galaxy:

Upper galaxy:

1 Like

Interactions/mergers can induce star formation - there’s no need for ram pressure to be invoked. They’re not in a particularly dense area, so i’d be surprised if they were indeed jellyfish.

1 Like

“Interactions/mergers can induce star formation”

Of course they can, it is the streamers of star formation that I haven’t seen in mergers…

Streamers aren’t two-body phenomena

Up top you can see the tidal tails on both sides but then there are the bits hanging below.

Yes, I know that RPS is mostly found in the hot intracluster medium clusters have but I don’t think that is a definitive habitat.

There are strong gas currents, AFAIK, in intergalactic space most everywhere except the voids.

1 Like